top of page

MAKE THE MOST OF YOUR DAILY EXERCISE

Hello there.


I hope you are keeping well.


We are all a bit stressed out, right?


Well, I hope that, whatever your current situation, you are making time for your government-approved daily exercise? I think it might be the single most important thing that's keeping me going right now so, if you are struggling, then I wholeheartedly recommend prioritising exercise as part of your new routine - even if you can't go outside right now.


Here's some thoughts about how I'm trying to maximise the physical and mental benefits of my daily exercise, whether taken outside or in.



Getting outside:


In some ways, the idea that we can 'only go out to exercise' has actually encouraged me to appreciate taking care of my body and mind when I'm outside. Usually, I'd combine my exercise with some daily task: cycling to work, walking to the shops or to a cafe to meet a friend. The exercise part is lost in the commute. It's almost an annoyance.


Perhaps this is why I've always enjoyed a hike. It's such a deliberate form of exercise. It forces you to connect your mind with your body, as I've discussed in a previous post. But now that I can't 'go out for a hike', I'm appreciating 'going out for a run' or a bike-ride, or a walk instead. Just for the simple goal to get outside, get some fresh air and get moving.


I don't have to go far to be content (and none of us should be going far from home under current guidance). For a more mindful experience, what's important is to focus on your movement, your place in relation to the outside world around you and how you feel. You can even do this just by running up and down your street, or walking around the garden. See how the way you feel changes before, during and after your outing. I bet it will change.


A case in point. Today I was meant to be getting married but for obvious reasons we have had to cancel. I got up and felt really grumpy. And guilty, because in the grand scheme of things my problem is trivial. We can wait to get married.


Feeling a mixture of grumpy and guilty, then, I decided to go for a run. Just a small one, I thought. Just to get me moving. Once round the block. I'm terrible at running and have never run more than 5km. However, I know from experience that every time I go running I feel mentally better afterwards. Today was no exception.


I ended up doing my usual route through empty streets on a beautiful sunny morning.

I stopped to admire some of the magnolia trees that adorn the gardens in my neighbourhood.

I stood underneath one and looked up through it at the blue sky and felt happy as I breathed hard from the exertion and marvelled at the contrast between white and blue.




I listened to my breath as I ran, felt it draw in and out of my lungs whilst moving my feet in time with it.

I chose to run across the grass rather than stick to the path in the local park. It had just been cut and smelled delicious and felt springy under my feet as the dew soaked through my trainers.

Without the usual drone of traffic, I could hear the cacophony of birdsong that fills the morning air.


The whole experience was a treat for the senses and wonderfully beneficial. Even in the city, nature has a way of putting you in your proper place. You don't need a mountain to tell you that you are just a small part of something much bigger. You just need some lungfuls of fresh air (there's plenty about right now) and to turn up the dial on all your senses when you go outside.


And you don't need to run. Cycling is good too. And walking.


Just be outside.


You don't need to have any specific goals. No 5Ks or personal bests to beat. No pressure. Just go out and move and breathe and look and listen and feel.


And don't wear headphones. They encourage you to go inwards when what you need most is to absorb what's around you. If you must have music, sing.



Staying inside:


All of the above can be done in the garden by the way.


But if you don't have a garden and you cannot go outside right now because you are self-isolating then I encourage you to practice any indoor exercise that harmonises your body and mind in an obvious way. It should be a pleasure, though, not a chore. You won't stick at it otherwise.


My favourite indoor exercise is yoga, though I'm not very good at it yet. I cannot abide aerobics (I have tried so many aerobics DVDs in the past) but that might be your thing. Whatever makes you happy.


What I love about yoga is how it makes you focus on your breath and body at the same time whilst encouraging relaxation of the mind. It's basically meditation and movement rolled into one. You'll also get crazy strong muscles without even noticing.


And you don't have to stand on your head or make cross-legged pretzel shapes. Don't be put off by the bendy folks on Instagram. Some yoga poses are just lying on your back, or standing up straight and tall and following your breath.


I'm just starting out with yoga, can you tell? :D

For beginners I'd recommend Yoga with Adriene. Her Youtube videos are free, plentiful and great for beginners. I try and do one session a day (though that doesn't always happen - but I'm not too hard on myself when it doesn't!).


Create a quiet, relaxing space to practice. Open a window, let the light and fresh air in and take some time to settle before you start. Starting is always the hardest part.


When you're done, you'll get a small but not insignificant sense of accomplishment that will stay with you for the rest of the day. Whatever your mind was worrying about, your body will help you forget briefly and put in perspective.


Trust me, you'll be glad you did it.


95 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page